Flippa Content Site Picks Criteria & Terminology

My criteria and terminology I use for featuring content sites in the weekly deals newsletter

Below are the criteria and process I use to pick content site deals on Flippa for the weekly newsletter, along with the terminology I use in my descriptions.

If you’re not yet subscribed:

You can read my post on the investing.io substack below on what I mean by content sites:

As a Flippa affiliate I earn a % of what Flippa earns from listings sold

I pick profitable content sites and media properties on Flippa and elsewhere that look decent to me in terms of the asset (irrespective of the asking price).

My picks should be viewed as initial screening - I am not recommending you should acquire assets and I do not verify traffic or revenue. You will need to do you own due diligence and/or buy DD on Flippa or Centurica.

My Criteria

  • I only pick sites that are making money, with a minimum of $100/m in profit (i.e. not starter sites).

  • I do not pick sites that are declining after a google update, or just trending down in a material way (it may be too costly to turn them around)

  • I only pick sites that have at least 2 years of history

  • I only feature sites on Flippa where the URL is disclosed (not confidential listings that require an NDA)

  • I do not recommend multi-site deals (i.e. 2+ site packages) as it just gets too messy and multiples tend to get jacked up

  • I only feature Flippa Listings with “verified traffic” where sellers have integrated their google analytics account

  • I don’t feature sites where a significant % of revenue comes from guest / sponsored posts - it's not sustainable and doesn't create a real asset.

  • All sites are in English and have the majority of traffic in US / UK / CA / AUS / NZ.

  • All sites are based on Wordpress

Terminology

  • L6M = last six months average profit. L30D = last 30 days etc

  • TTM = Trailing twelve months (in total)

  • MoM = month on month

  • Keyword / page dependency = at risk of losing significant traffic by dropping off p1 in google by being in position 8-10.

  • DA = domain authority in Ubersuggest

  • KW = keyword (search term)

  • ST = search traffic

  • PV = pageview

  • Anchor = anchor text

  • RPM = $ revenue per 1000 pageviews

  • EPMV = Earnings Per Thousand Visitors

  • CRO = conversion rate optimization

  • CTA = call to action

  • GA = Google Analytics

  • GSC = Google Search Console

  • EAT - Expertise, Authority, and Trust — three factors that Google uses to measure how much trust it should place in a brand or website

Join the conversation

or to participate.