Patey's Pivot & Top Picks

My 2 week brokerage, strategy for acquiring sites, top content site picks on Flippa, and back on The Exit podcast

2.6 million people wake up to this newsletter every morning

There's a reason over 2.6 million people start their day with Morning Brew - the daily email that delivers the latest news from Wall Street to Silicon Valley. Business news doesn't have to be dry and dense...make your mornings more enjoyable, for free.

My 2-week Brokerage

In my previous newsletter, earlier this month, I wrote about launching 3 content site listings on Flippa as an affiliated broker.

The amount of qualified buyer interest they had was incredible - this is how many NDAs one listing had after just a week and a half:

As such, trying to manage all the communication was too much for me to want to handle.

I had forgotten but soon remembered why I decided not to set up my own brokerage after running acquisitions at Alpha Investors (Investors Club) back in the day!

I realized that I can be far more valuable, and drive more GMV on Flippa as an affiliate instead. 

Plus I’d be able to have enough time to continue to write the ALTS by Flippa newsletter. You can check out yesterday’s letter below:

I told my sellers I’ve taken their listings as far as I can and asked what they wanted to do. The first seller decided to take the listing down, the second decided to run the listing himself, and the third seller chose to have a Flippa Account Manager help run the listing with him (and has just accepted an offer).

I’ve since been approved as a Flippa affiliate and terminated my broker agreement.

M&A Consultancy

So now the service offering on Acquire.GG is just content site & media property consultancy, and I’m doing calls on Clarity with buyers, as well as business owners looking to optimise their funnel before an exit.

My Acquisition Thesis

Due to getting early access to Content at Scale (CAS) for one-click AI blog post creation that actually works, I’m now looking to acquire sites that have history and a solid link profile, and blow them up with AI content.

You can see a breakdown of my investment criteria on the Flippa blog but it’s pretty similar to BowTiedWookie’s thesis he recently put out on Twitter:

I want to buy small, revenue-generating sites (search string on Flippa) where the vast majority of the content is informational, ideally written by the owner who knows the subject matter.

Then I’ll add Content at Scale to the site, where you just enter a keyword, hit generate and out comes copy so good you don’t need to edit it.

I don’t even have a software review site anymore, but had to see what it could do with the keyword “sales funnel software”, something I used to rank for back in the day when was a top affiliate for Samcart and Clickfunnels.

And this is the result - I’ve paid writers up to 10c per word and received a similar quality! Add screenshots/videos, internal link it up on a decent site and it will likely shoot to page 3/4 in SERPs.

With CAS I don’t have to hire/manage writers anymore which I always found super frustrating. And if you don’t want to run the software yourself, they have a done-for-you option at $2K/m for 20 posts a month.

So what sites have I been looking at over the last week?…

🔝 Patey’s Top Picks on Flippa

Going forward, I’ll be picking content sites and media properties on Flippa that look decent to me in terms of the asset (irrespective of the asking price), from three different revenue buckets. Although with today’s newsletter, I’m only showcasing one in full, due to the email length limit.

View this as initial screening - I am not recommending you should acquire these assets. Do you own due diligence and/or buy DD on Flippa or Centurica. 

Small Content Sites - acquire.gg/small-websites

Revenue-generating websites making $100-$499/m in profit

joggingaddiction.com - $3,500 reserve price

Search traffic has been on a big decline since 2021 but seems to have stabilized from June 2022, and the verified Google Analytics integration in the Flippa listing is showing it spike up from July.

89 pages in Google index, 248K total words according to Weglot. The top traffic page has several matches in Copyscape but when you look into it, it’s just a source it’s quoting. Affiliate pages are set out well in terms of comparison tables, don’t see much upside here.

Decent-looking domain authority and backlink profile with majority brand anchors.

Ranking on p1 for some decent volume keywords:

With the reserve price set to a 26x monthly profit multiple, this could be a good risk to reward pickup, to see what happens when you double the number of posts using AI software and improve internal linking.

Medium Content Sites - acquire.gg/medium-websites

Revenue-generating websites making $500-$4,999/m in profit

shootingandsafety.com - $26K asking price

DA25 site where search traffic looks to have been dropping since Dec 21 but seems to have stabilized from June 22. 284 pages in google index, 689K words according to Weglot, no copyscape results on top page which is affiliate content with good CTAs. Looks to be a well-optimised affiliate site (Amazon, Impact Radius) with no obvious upside (even the sitemap is tidy).

New baseline monthly revenue appears to be at ~ $200/m which puts the asking price at 10x annual profit. Good luck with offers.

Large Content Sites - acquire.gg/boss-websites

Revenue-generating websites making over $5000/m in profit - job replacement income.

5-year-old content site in biking niche | Revenue from affiliate programs, Amazon Associates & Mediavine | 77K users L30D. Pre-approved on Boopos for $155K | Asking Price $395K | Confidential listing (will need NDA) | Listing URL

(This was one of my previous broker listings!)

🎙️ odys launches domains podcast

odys, the platform for aftermarket SEO domains to build money sites out on (link to get $100 credit on first purchase) just launched their own podcast and it has a super high production value - check out the studio setup!

➡️ The Exit

And I just had an interview published on Flippa’s The Exit podcast discussing Building Communities of Investors:

This was my second time on the show, the first was talking about the investing.io substack I built:

Ok that’s it for this email send, catch you in your inbox for the next one.

If you’re not already subscribed then here’s the CTA:

Good luck acquiring out there!

Cheers

Richard Patey (follow me on Twitter)

Join the conversation

or to participate.